Do I look like a slut?

To continue with the slut theme, here’s a song by Avenue D. (Not suitable for children because of rude language, rude gestures and short skirts.)

I must admit I used to secretly sneer at girls and women who wear skanky clothes. I still don’t think letting it all hang out is necessarily a good look, but instead of criticising the style choices, it’s more important to stress every individual’s right to dress in any way they like. Slut shaming isn’t that far from victim blaming, so it can’t be stressed too much that revealing clothes are a personal preference, not an invitation to rape. You can’t draw conclusions about a person’s morals from their clothes. Some people are simply used to showing a bit more skin, and think nothing of it. And even if a woman has loose morals and a short dress, she still has the right to autonomy over her own body. Assumptions about a woman’s morals are not an excuse for rape.

Defending everyone’s right to express themselves through clothes does not require for you to like everyone’s style. That’s what freedom is about – everyone gets to choose for themselves. It’s not up to the society to control what people wear.

This song was played at the SlutWalk in my town. I don’t think I look like a slut but I was proud to march to this song because it speaks for freedom. That freedom is hard-won and worth preserving, even if it sometimes manifests in bad style choices.

About inmyinternest

A thirty-something woman, watching the world turn
This entry was posted in Culture, Feminism, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do I look like a slut?

  1. Socialkenny says:

    Hey Kiki,I’m now following your new blog for updates on new articles.

    Return the favor and follow mines.Spread the blog love.

  2. Socialkenny says:

    I’m not able to check out the video as yet,but I keeping it real,are you anti-skanky or skimpy?

    Well you do believe that ppl should do their thing the way they desire,but what’s you’re dress-code like?

  3. Anti-skanky or skimpy? Neither. I like boho style but I don’t see what my personal taste in clothes has to do with this. The point is, everyone should wear whatever they like, without being subjected to slut shaming.

    • Socialkenny says:

      I hear you on that.I’m a guy,so I’m definitely not at the front lines calling for the heads of chics who let it all hang out somewhat lol.

      BTW,we’d wanna see pics of you doing the “Slut Walk” lol.

      • There are no pics but I didn’t dress up for the walk. Women often get called sluts no matter what they wear, so I wore my normal everyday clothes.

        • Socialkenny says:

          That was pretty feminist-like to say lol.

          Irony is,Feminists are the new enemies of the online-Seduction community.Yall accuse us of being misogynists,woman-hating and degrading(just because we coach men how to bang a lot of girls).

          I get your point though.

          • I don’t know about your community, so I can’t really comment on that. To be honest, I think the idea of seduction coaching is pretty lame. But basically, I have no problem with men or women sleeping around. It’s the attitude that counts. If you respect women as much as you respect men, then feminists should have no quarrel with you.

            I’m glad if you get my point. Really. But I’m not sure if I get yours… 🙂

Say something!

