Pick-up artists

Seduction coaching and pick-up artists have come up in the comments to my previous entries and I remembered this comic. It’s too funny not to post! (No personal offence to pick-up artists intended.)

A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language.

http://xkcd.com/1027/

About inmyinternest

A thirty-something woman, watching the world turn
This entry was posted in Culture, Feminism, Life, Misogyny, Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pick-up artists

  1. Missus Tribble says:

    Haha, sheer brilliance! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Socialkenny says:

    Wait,I thought I’d commented on this:unless you’d disapproved my comment lol.

    Be real though,yall are secretly attracted to pick-up artists lol.

    That goes for Missus also(if she’s a girl that is).

    • No, I haven’t censored any of your comments. If I did, what would be the point of having a blog in the first place? Discussion is good, and listening to someone even with reservations is better than not listening at all. The only reason I moditor comments is that I don’t want to give trolls a chance to be abusive here without me knowing about it. But so far I haven’t got any comments that would warrant censorship. ๐Ÿ™‚

      As for being attracted to pick-up artists… well, you won’t stop bugging me until I tell you how it is. Some of them are fun, you’re right there. But ultimately, when it comes down to it, I really do find overly confident guys repulsive. I may flirt with them and I may laugh at their jokes and I may even have a good time while I’m at it, but if they try to get close up and personal, there’s just no chemistry there. For me, at least. I’m physically attracted to a different type of men.

      Despite what you said about men not being attracted to “dominant” women, you’ll be amazed to know I get hit on quite a lot. I’ve seen all kinds of attempts to impress me. Machismo never works, I can tell you that. (Unless you want to make me laugh at you. That’s the best you can hope by using the macho approach.)

      You pick-up artists never believe it when a woman tells this to you, but the most impressive thing you could possibly do is to just talk to us normally. If you’re using some pick-up tactic, an intelligent woman is going to see right through you. She might play the game with you, for fun, but she’s not going to be impressed.

  3. Socialkenny says:

    BTW,I’m gonna post an article with a transcript of our discussion(from our comments),and have my readers weigh it out.

    I can’t believe I’m actually doing this:giving a feminist the time of day lol.

    • wtf? I’m not sure how I feel about that. But fine, at least you told me in advance and it’s not like it’s plagiarism or anything. I guess I should thank you for bringing me more readers! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Socialkenny says:

    Well I’m a troll.The fact that you allow me to mislead your male followers into going down a path of banging a lot of women.I figured you’d constitute that as trollish lol.Just saying.

    Anyway,another thing about PUA’s(pick up artists) you should grasp:we are not macho-men.We are not the dude at the bar pretending to be macho.

    We are that guy at the bar brimming with confidence and a touch of cockiness.

    Machismo generally comes from insecurity.

    You’re a girl,so you undoubtedly get hit on a lot.

    I’d love to let loose on you 1 of my students(a Newbie)to show you what it’s like to get taken down the road of seduction lol.

    • I guess some people would say you’re trolling but at least you started out politely. I won’t censor comments just for disagreeing with me. I would only delete a comment if it was abusive to me personally, or to someone else who comments here. As for banging a lot of women, bang away, for all I care! Feminists aren’t against sex, you know.

      Okay, now you say pick-up artists aren’t macho men. But earlier you said you can’t accept women as your equals, and you’ve talked a lot about how women want to be dominated, or how they should be dominated even if they don’t want it. That’s macho talk.

      *facepalm* Believe me, I’ve been taken down the road of seduction by guys who are VERY good at it. I don’t know if they have studied it or if it comes to them naturally, but… been there, done that. The thing is, if the guy oozes too much confidence, or especially cockiness, the attraction fades on my side pretty quickly, by the time it comes to making-out at the very latest. The chemistry just goes away – poof! That doesn’t happen with guys who are simply being their normal selves, and who don’t believe they are better than me on account of their sex.

      It could be a maturity thing, too. I liked cocksure guys well enough when I was a teen and in my early twenties. But I guess now I associate that kind of behaviour with young boys, and I tend to be interested in grown men rather than boys. (I have no idea how old you are, but I don’t mean to insult in any case. I’m just saying how it is.)

      • Socialkenny says:

        I was just joking about the trolling thing.I’m no troll.

        BTW,I just turned 30 in February.

        Because we don’t accept women as our equal doesn’t mean we carry ourselves that way.We also don’t verbalize it.It’s just that we don’t take shit from women.

        For instance,if a girl stands up an AFC(average frustrated chump),or regular guy,the guy will most likely still stick around,essentially letting her get away with standing him up.

        PUA’s on the other hand,we have an abundance mentality.If a girl stand us up(as in a date),without GREAT excuse,we delete her # pronto,and move on to the next girl.

        That is dominance!Not Machismo.

        • Oh, you could still be a feminist and “not take shit from women,” the way you described it. That’s just basic self-respect. Okay, rather pronounced self-respect, but it still doesn’t rule out feminism. Many women I know take the same approach to dating men. If a man stands them up in the beginning of a relationship, without a good reason, they draw the conclusion that the man isn’t worth their time and effort. If I was dating, I’d do the same thing. That doesn’t mean I believe I’m better than men or that men aren’t equal with me. Self-respect doesn’t rule out respecting others, too.

  5. Socialkenny says:

    Lol hey despite being enemies,I don’t mine introducing you to my followers.

    The women will love you of course.But the men lol:different story.

    On a different note,I like the things you blog about.

  6. Socialkenny says:

    Reasons for standing the other up different Significantly with women and men.

    Women are emotional beings(although you don’t like the sound of that lol).

    Men are rational beings.

    Likewise,when a guy stands up a girl or his date,he has a rational/physical reason for it.His car broke down,his secret wife thwarted the plan lol,etc.

    When a girl stands up a guy,9-10 times,it’s an emotionally-driven reason.

    Example:she’s nervous,anxiety about the new guy,she doesn’t know if her hair is done properly,so she calls her GF and cries to her about if her hair looks good,she thinks she looks too fat in a particular dress,she has a pimple,etc.

    You see the HUGE difference in why men flake opposed to women?

    It’s always an emotional reason with women:low self esteem,anxiety,fear,etc.

    With men,it’s tangible and logical.

    So women and men are NOT the same.

    • *sigh*

      I see you have a fixed idea about what women are like, and whether or not there’s any truth in it, doesn’t matter. Of course, I can’t speak for American women with any certainty, but I can tell you that Finnish women don’t flake out a date out of insecurity about their appearance, not if they’re over 13 years old.

      We are all emotional beings. It’s just that men are taught from infancy to hide their feelings. They are made to understand that it’s not manly to cry or to make a fuss about things. But men who are not taught that gender norm are more open about expressing and dealing with their emotions. Possibly women are naturally more emotional than men, but a big part of the perceived difference is due to different upbringing.

      • Socialkenny says:

        Regardless of why we’re emotional,and who’s more than the other.That’s besides the point.

        You’re absolutely kidding me if you’re telling me that Finnish women do NOT flake out of insecurity.Bullshit!

        So why do they flake?Because their husbands find out about her secret date?

        All women are the same on an emotional plane.You need to grasp that.

        And the prob with feminism,is that you gives yall the false impression that yall are not like all other women.

        And pick up artist constantly have to prove this time after time.

        How many more women do we have to lay in order for you(a femi)to realize that all women are the same(emotionally,behavioral and biologically).

        • By denying women’s individuality you are dehumanizing women, just like the comic says pick-up artists would. But now that I know it’s a real thing, I no longer find it as funny as I did.

          But I’m not kidding you. I’ve never flaked out of a date because of insecurity, and no one I know has done so either. I’ve never called my friends to complain about my looks, before a date or otherwise, and I’ve never received such calls either. The women I know may fuss about their clothes or their hair, but not enough to cancel their date. That would be pretty extreme anxiety about one’s appearance!

          If you’ve been stood up for silly reasons like “I don’t have anything to wear” or “I’m having a bad-hair-day,” you might want to consider that the women were just making up excuses. Of course I could be wrong, but it’s something to consider.

Say something!

